Skip to content

samurai champloo

January 21, 2009

kiboko Hachiyon

I have watched a lot of cartoons and pieces of animation, but for me nothing compares to samurai champloo, it is [in my view] a piece of genius in its entirety.

The opening credits superseded Samurai Jack from its position as my favourite and also drives me to tell a story in still/ storyboard format. My main attraction to this piece of work is the character design and use of exaggeration .

champloo_contact

Here is an image of some of the stills in the opening credits. The arrangement of it makes me think of how not to approach a story without the use of music or type, but by using characters’ actions and body language. I am a great admirer of anime, and I feel Samurai Champloo pushes boundaries in terms of being informed by and mixing traditional and modern Japanese art, as well as being aware of other cultures and their various movements.

One Comment

Post a comment
  1. June 20, 2009

    nothing better than this here champloo, i share your views fellow primate….. 🙂

Leave a Reply

