Skip to content

wangu wa makeri – in the beginning

October 5, 2011

kiboko Hachiyon

wangu wa makeri - in the beginning by kiboko HachiYon

I have been working on my interpretation of Wangu Wa Makeri, a tribal myth from the Kikuyu tribe from Kenya, since 2008. The story appears in three sections, the beginning, the middle and the conclusion. I am piecing together bits and pieces that I find interesting and creating a visual contribution to the mainly oral myth. Part one can bee seen via the link below.

http://wanguwamakeri.tumblr.com/

5 Comments

Post a comment
  1. October 14, 2011

    Beautiful!! Really liking what’s going on, and i’m fascinated by its stories. Can’t wait to see the end product. What’s Gikuyu people, where are they from??

  2. wanyeki #
    November 21, 2011

    I grew up in the ridge overlooking Koimbi from where she ruled so she’s not a myth unless you think of Henry V111 as a myth, of course. And another thing, the Agikuyu are a nation not a tribe. There’s about 9 million of them but only 7 M Scots in Scotland yet one is a tribe and the other a nation?

  3. wanyeki #
    November 21, 2011

    And another thing, google ‘collective nouns’ and look out for ‘tribe’. You’ll get a ‘tribe of goats’, a tribe of magpies, a tribe of monkeys and a tribe of natives. Such fun!

  4. November 21, 2011

    Hello Wanyeki,

    I am a bit surprised at your comments about the work and write this response asking you to garner of the facts on the work, which are available on my blog, before leaving behind cocky and pointless sentiments “And another thing, google ‘collective nouns’ and look out for ‘tribe’. You’ll get a ‘tribe of goats’, a tribe of magpies, a tribe of monkeys and a tribe of natives. Such fun! “. I have no idea what your argument is based on “I grew up in the ridge overlooking Koimbi from where she ruled so she’s not a myth unless you think of Henry V111 as a myth, of course. And another thing, the Agikuyu are a nation not a tribe. There’s about 9 million of them but only 7 M Scots in Scotland yet one is a tribe and the other a nation?”

    Judging from your response, maybe I am right to assume you did not reference the earlier works I created on the subject of Wangu, “I have been working on my interpretation of Wangu Wa Makeri, a tribal myth from the Kikuyu tribe from Kenya, since 2008”.

    Had you been a follower of my blog, you would have known about these works or if you were really interested, you could have trawled through my blog, stumbled upon the earlier works and seen the varied comments left behind by different people which I respected, because that was the main purpose of the body of the work on WANGU. It was my university project and my aim was to instigate debate, to sift what is real from unreal and to add to the whole tale, by piecing together what I found truly interesting from factual information and plucking bits from the countless stories and illustrating it. It is by no means a complete work, I have never claimed it to be, it is my visual contribution, my myth. The work should be criticised intelligently, challenged, discussed, reviewed. I have created something that will eventually have its own place and its on say.

    I consulted intelligent people, scholars, everyday Kikuyu’s [young and old] and not that I have to state it as, but I am Kikuyu/Gikuyu.

    The satisfaction that I have from all this, is that 3 years from the time the work was created, it is still being spoken about, raising eyebrows, stirring emotions [ in your case minimal irate ramblings]

    Regards,

    Kiboko

  5. Taaka #
    November 22, 2011

    Welldone Kiboko.
    Taaka

Leave a Reply

