Skip to content

3 weeks + 150 hours

May 1, 2013

kiboko Hachiyon

FINAL M WEB

NEKO WEB

LS WEB

SMILE 1

HEADS WEB

LL WEB 1

HH WEB

Yes, the Divai Cafe & Wine Bar mural is done and it feels good. I left the characters till the very end as they would help balance out the whole mural, starting with the cat and working my way down. The details give each character a personality and I strive for this element in my work. I want one to associate with a particular character for whatever reason they are drawn to it.

I am happy with the colours and the final look of the piece. Japan has such a rich visual culture and had plenty of reference materials, mainly anime, Ukiyo-e and the great Hokusai. As much as I was heavily influenced by all things Japanese, added my own personal touch, as this is my take on Sakura, plus wanted the space to feel like spring, warm and airy.

Divai Cafe & wine Bar is located in Ushitsu, Noto, Ishikawa prefecture Japan and run by great friends of mine. If and when you make your way here, pop by for a drink and enjoy the mural in real life.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

