Skip to content

chasing that solo

June 19, 2013

kiboko Hachiyon

EE

NA

NW

DNCE

W2W

Been hidden away pumping up new works for a Solo show, that I aim to organise as soon as I have finished a sound body of work. The above pieces [in progress, others complete] are such an example, and through them I am exploring the theme of “Afrosexuality” [specifically in Africa] and how the portrayal of African women in the nude is seen as taboo by some, and arousing or amusing by others. Sexuality, subdued for a long period of time is slowly leaking out to mixed reviews, both internally and externally.

 I had wanted to work on such pieces for a long time, but there was that internal struggle and thoughts of alienating my original audience hindered my diversification. Risk is good, and this work will not be for everyone or cater to everybody’s tastes, just as my earlier works have had their fans and critics.  I have always produced what I felt I needed to put out there and hope to continue to do so in my creative practice. The extract below is from a price of writing I did about my work and summarises my thoughts well. Professional pictures of finished works soon to follow.

Far too long have I edited the content of my paintings, straddling the line between the monikers of Street Art & Contemporary African Art [don’t qualify for the Primitive Art section since I landed in Europe and was ‘taught’ in Art school] Thank you Chris Ofili & Wangechi Mutu for new found inspiration. Hope you enjoyed the old works. The next ones are going to be a doozy”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

